Six stages of divorce

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Divorce and other Marriage topics.

What are the common reasons listed for divorcing?

Six stages of divorce

A researcher Paul Bohannan described the divorce process as an intense journey that includes six different experiences with various different phases. The six phases are (1) the emotional divorce, which focuses on deterioration of sharing thoughts and feelings; (2) the legal divorce, which focuses on the legal arena; (3) the economic divorce, which has to do with money and property; (4) the co-parental divorce, which deals with custody and visitation rights; (5) the community divorce, which involves a change is social groups, friendships, and community relationships, and (6) the psychological divorce, in which the individuals try to work towards being single again and gaining individual autonomy.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Marriage Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Tammi Reynolds